When looking for inspiration in the kitchen, a good cookbook is a great place to start. We review some of the most interesting new books on the market, as well as classic culinary tomes, aiming to find new recipes, top advice and techniques we can all try at home.

Cookery book reviews

13 features

Book review: Sex, Drugs and Sausage Rolls by Graham Garrett
Book review: Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls by Gr...
Book review: Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls by Graham Garrett
by Eliot Collins
26 January 2016
Eliot Collins reviews Graham Garrett's Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls, a book that is part memoir, part cookery book.
Book review: Inside Chefs' Fridges by Carrie Solomon and Adrian Moore
Book review: Inside Chefs' Fridges by Carrie Solom...
Book review: Inside Chefs' Fridges by Carrie Solomon and Adrian Moore
by Simon Wilder
22 December 2015
Simon Wilder talks us through the book that sheds light on what's in the fridges of Europe's best chefs — from frozen flies to fois gras.
Book review: Mezzogiorno: Recipes from Southern Italy by Francesco Mazzei
Book review: Mezzogiorno: Recipes from Southern It...
Book review: Mezzogiorno: Recipes from Southern Italy by Francesco Mazzei
by Tom Wildman
01 December 2015
Recipes from Southern Italy is a collection of recipes by Calabrian-born chef Francesco Mazzei.
Book Review: Nopi: The Cookbook by Yotam Ottolenghi and Ramael Scully
Book Review: Nopi by Yotam Ottolenghi and Ramael S...
Book Review: Nopi by Yotam Ottolenghi and Ramael Scully
by Katie Smith
16 November 2015
NOPI: The Cookbook is Yotam Ottolenghi's latest book written in collaboration with NOPI head chef Ramael Scully. Together they have compiled an eclectic mix of restaurant-style recipes and simpler dishes to inspire and challenge.
Book review: My Family Kitchen by Sophie Thompson
Book review: My Family Kitchen by Sophie Thompson
Book review: My Family Kitchen by Sophie Thompson
by Camilla Stoddart
13 November 2015
Camilla Stoddart reviews actress Sophie Thompson’s first cookbook and finds a collection of colourful, inspiring recipes for every occasion.
Review: Homemade Memories by Kate Doran
Book Review: Homemade Memories by Kate Doran
Book Review: Homemade Memories by Kate Doran
by Camilla Stoddart
30 October 2015
Book review of Homemade Memories by Kate Doran who updates your favourite childhood treats with contemporary twists.
John Torode's My Kind of Food review
Review: My Kind of Food by John Torode
Review: My Kind of Food by John Torode
by Izzy Burton
16 October 2015
John Torode's latest book, My Kind of Food, shares recipes his has collected throughout his life and career. From recipes passed on from his grandmother to those which featured on the menus of exclusive restaurants, these are dishes the MasterChef judge loves to cook at home – and so will you.
Jason Atherton's Social Sweets book review
Jason Atherton's Social Sweets book review
Jason Atherton's Social Sweets book review
by Sally Abé
22 July 2015
Social Sweets, Jason Atherton's latest offering, focuses on the endless possibilities of desserts. From hot, stodgy comfort foods to refreshing sorbet and ice cream ideas, there are plenty of dessert ideas whatever your talents and tastes.
Rosie Birkett’s A Lot On Her Plate book review
Rosie Birkett’s A Lot On Her Plate book review
Rosie Birkett’s A Lot On Her Plate book review
by Great British Chefs
20 July 2015
Rosie Birkett is a London-based food writer and her first book takes its name from her increasingly popular blog of the same name, offering recipes inspired by family, friends and her love of food.
Jason Atherton's Social Suppers book review
Jason Atherton's Social Suppers book review
Jason Atherton's Social Suppers book review
by Sally Abé
16 July 2015
While he might be a chef with global success, Jason Atherton's Social Suppers offers interesting, accessible recipes perfect for preparing at home.
Hog: proper pork recipes from the snout to the squeak
Hog: proper pork recipes from the snout to the squ...
Hog: proper pork recipes from the snout to the squeak
by Gemma Harrison
13 May 2015
Great British Chefs reviews ‘Hog’ – Richard H. Turner’s cookbook dedicated to the humble pig.
Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen book review
Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen book review
Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen book review
by Great British Chefs
23 May 2014
We review Nathan Outlaw's Fish Kitchen, the new cookbook from the 2-starred Michelin chef.
Poseidon’s cookbook - Nathan Outlaw’s British Seafood
Poseidon’s cookbook - Nathan Outlaw’s British Seaf...
Poseidon’s cookbook - Nathan Outlaw’s British Seafood
by Ollie Lloyd
11 January 2012
Nathan Outlaw is well known as the only fish-focused chef in the country with 2 Michelin stars and his first cookbook "Nathan Outlaw's British Seafood" has been long-awaited. Ollie (our CEO at Great British Chefs) was keen to get hold of a copy to review and try one of the dishes as soon as possible.